Sonntag, 29. Oktober 2017


Unicorn is a neo-progressive rock band originating from Örebro, Sweden. Unicorn is one of the many projects fronted by influential Swedish musician Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity, Nightingale, Bloodbath, Pan.Thy.Monium, Karaboudjan, etc). The band was formed in 1988 by Anders Mareby on guitars, Peter Edwinzon on Keyboards, and Dan Swanö on vocals and drums. Unicorn had multiple changes in bass players (Tom Nouga, Per Runesson, and even Peter Edwinzon and Dan Swanö). Unicorn released 4 demos from 1988-1992, all of which are exceptional in terms of quality. If you are to get one demo from this band, I recommend getting "The Weirdest of Tales". It's really a great example of Swedish neo-prog. After the 4 demos ("A Collection of Worlds Pt. 1", "A Collection of Worlds Pt. 2", "The Weirdest of Tales", and "After Before"), Unicorn released their debut album, "Ever Since", in 1993. This album is their definitive release, and is highly recommended to any fan of Dan Swanö, or 80's and 90's neo-prog in general. The band's second full-length album, "Emotional Wasteland" shows a much more mature band. The band advanced in terms of production qualities and lyrics, as well as creating some more high-quality neo-prog. If you consider yourself a fan of bands like Marillion, Arena, and IQ, Unicorn is a band you should check out for sure!

"A Collection of Worlds - Resurrection", released August 7, 2017, is a new remixed demo tape from the band.