Sonntag, 22. März 2015


Karnataka were formed in 1997 by founding members, Ian Jones (bass/acoustic guitar), Jonathan Edwards (keyboards) and Rachel Jones (vocals). The band started as a project to record songs in Ian's home studio, that had been written and performed by Jonathan, Rachel and Ian in earlier bands. The project was augmented by additional musicians, Paul Davies (electric guitars) and Gavin Griffiths (drums), who had played with other members of Karnataka in earlier bands. At the end of the recording the decision was made to continue the project as a band. The name Karnataka was chosen by the band, from a suggestion by Ian, following his trips to that region of India.
Karnataka are survivors. Since their inception at the tail end of the 1990s, they have most definitely had their ups and downs: they found some success fairly rapidly, helped in no small part by a scorched earth gigging mentality and some fairly prestigious support slots with the likes of progressive rock favourites Porcupine Tree and the much-loved, oft-lamented All About Eve.

Released in March 2015 "Secrets Of Angels" is the band’s first studio album with a new line-up, and it’s a testament to Jones’ deep understanding of the music he’s making that the new look Karnataka are so evidently a force to be reckoned with.

8 stunning new tracks including the 20 minute opus title track...this is a work of art!
This album is incredible. This band should be on a major label and stratospheric.
Special mention must go to Hayley Griffiths. Have you ever sat down and written lyrics songs and vocal for a progressive symphonic rock album? I thought not. As you will discover this album is exceptional in every facet so to have created such a masterpiece at her first attempt is truly amazing. Great credit to all artists appearing here to create such an epic piece of work from the ground up – so good you would never know this was a first album written together.

Current line up:
Ian Jones - bass, acoustic guitars, keyboards, percussion (1997–2004, 2005–present)
Enrico Pinna - guitars (2006–present)
Hayley Griffiths - lead vocals (2011–present)
Cagri Tozluoglu - keyboards (2011–present)
Jimmy Pallagrosi - drums, percussion (2014-present)



    Karnataka (1998)
    The Storm (2000)
    Delicate Flame of Desire (2003)
    The Gathering Light (2010)
    Secrets of Angels (2015)


    Strange Behaviour (2004)
    New Light Live in Concert (2012)


    In Concert (2002)
    Live in the USA (2003)
    New Light Live in Concert (2012)

"It doesn't get better than this... this is Karnataka."
(Rick Wakeman)