Freitag, 23. September 2011

The Waterboys

The long-awaited new album "An Appointment With Mr Yeats" by The Waterboys is released now across Europe.

The album was produced by Mike Scott and Waterboys' bassist Marc Arciero, and contains 14 new songs created from the lyrics of Ireland's greatest poet, WB Yeats (1865-1939).
The songs were premiered at the band's raved-about Appointment With Mr Yeats concerts in Ireland and Britain in 2010 and early 2011.
All the musicians from the most recent Mr Yeats concerts are featured: Steve Wickham (fiddle), Katie Kim (vocals), James Hallawell (keyboards), Kate St John (sax, oboe, cor anglais), Blaise Margail (trombone), Ralph Salmins (drums), Sarah Allen (flute) and Joe Chester (guitar) as well as Scott and Arciero.
The album was recorded in London and Dublin between March and June 2011.

For those who don't know them yet, The Waterboys are a Scottish band formed in 1983 by Mike Scott.
The band has played in a number of different styles, but their music is a mix of Celtic folk music with rock 'n' roll.

1983: The Waterboys
1984: A Pagan Place
1985: This Is the Sea
1988: Fisherman's Blues
1990: Room to Roam
1993: Dream Harder
2000: A Rock in the Weary Land
2001: Too Close to Heaven
2003: Universal Hall
2005: Karma To Burn
2007: Book of Lightning
2008: Kiss The Wind
2011: In A Special Place (The Piano Demos For "This Is The Sea")
2011: An Appointment With Mr Yeats