Sonntag, 28. August 2011

The Book Of Knots

The Book Of Knots is an Brooklyn-based experimental art rock band including Matthias Bossi, Joel Hamilton, Carla Kihlstedt and Tony Maimone.

The band was formed in 2003 by three core band members Joel Hamilton, Matthias Bossi and Tony Maimone at Hamilton and Maimone’s Brooklyn based Studio G. Members of Book of Knots have played or worked with various acts previously, including Skeleton Key, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, Shiner, Battle of Mice, Sparklehorse, Elvis Costello, Unsane, Pere Ubu, Frank Black, They Might Be Giants and more. Carla Kihlstedt (of Tin Hat Trio, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, 2 Foot Yard among others) joined later in 2003 to solidify what would become the group's core quartet.

The Book of Knots decided to release three conceptual records:

First was to be an ode to rotting seaside towns, a self-titled debut which appeared on Arclight Records in 2004.

Second was a tribute to the American rust belt, titled "Traineater", with the albums release in April 2007 and featuring guest spots from the likes of Tom Waits, Mike Watt, Jon Langford, and David Thomas.

Third, devoted to all things aeronautical and ready to conclude their ”By Sea, By Land, By Air” trilogy with the release of the final chapter, "Garden Of Fainting Stars", on June 14, 2011.

As the “By Air” installment in the trilogy, Garden of Fainting Stars is inspired by the infinitely vast celestial world that sits above the clouds, otherwise known as space. The band provides a rather profound explanation of the album in their recent press release:
”…A vast and empty universe stretching far beyond infinity, capable of containing the countless imaginary creatures, civilizations and otherwise terrestrial impossibilities that inhabit our dreams, dies in the fluorescent lighting of the laundry soap aisle at Walmart. Once again, we cast a wormless, rusty hook into the lifeless seas of the music industry, expecting to reap only sorrow…”
The Book of Knots previously tackled the sea and the land with albums inspired by growing up in a small fishing community and a depressed steel town, '04's Book of Knots and '07's Traineater, respectively.

In addition to the rather heavy musical concept, Garden of Fainting Stars is also stacked with quite the diverse guest musician roster. Making appearances on the album are founding Einstürzende Neubauten member Blixa Bargeld, Mike Watt,
Mr. Bungle/Secret Chiefs 3 guitarist Trey Spruance, and Ipecac Recordings’ co-owner Mike Patton.